Photograph of Jonny
New Kate Atkinson novel coming in Spring 2013!
by Jonny on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Kate Atkinson’s new novel Life After Life is to be published by Doubleday in March 2013


Life After Life poses compelling and thought-provoking questions.

What if you had the chance to live your life again and again, until you finally got it right?

What if there were second chances? And third chances? In fact an infinite number of chances to live your life? Would you eventually  be able to save the world from its own inevitable destiny? And would you even want to?

 During a snowstorm in England in 1910, a baby is born and dies before she can take her first breath.   During a snowstorm in England in 1910, the same baby is born and lives to tell the tale.

Life After Life  traces the story of Ursula Todd as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again. Here is Kate Atkinson at her most profound and inventive. With wit and compassion, she finds warmth even in life’s bleakest moments, and shows an extraordinary ability to evoke the past. This is a novel that celebrates the best and worst of ourselves.


Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, and has been a critically acclaimed, Number 1 bestselling international author ever since. Her four most recent bestsellers featured the former private detective Jackson Brodie: Case Histories, One Good Turn, When Will There Be Good News? and Started Early, Took My Dog. She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson (Doubleday, £18.99) ISBN: 9780385618670

Post A Comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your Website

Your Comment
Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your Comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your Comment. By posting a Comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.
The What Shall I Read?