Photograph of Kate
Transworld success at the Crime Writing Dagger Awards and CWA longlists
by Kate on Jul 6, 2012 at 11:04 am

Last night saw the announcement of the CWA awards and longlists at the annual Crime Writers’ Association dinner in London and we can say with pride that Transworld had an excellent line-up of winners and potential future winners.

Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan won the CWA Dagger for Non-Fiction for their definitive book about the events leading up to 9/11,The Eleventh Day, which will be published in paperback on 30th August.

Carrying our winning streak on, Cath Staincliffe was joint winner of the CWA Short Story Dagger for a story in the Murder Squad anthology, Best Eaten Cold. We published Cath Staincliffe’s novel Dead To Me earlier this year, which told the dramatic prequel story to the hit ITV1 TV series Scott & Bailey.

Debut novel, A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash, has been longlisted for two awards – The CWA Gold Dagger, which is for the best crime/thriller novel of the year; and for The John Creasey Award which is for the best first novel. Inspired by a horrific true event and set in the deep South of America, A Land More Kind Than Home is a haunting story about cruelty and innocence, and the failure of faith and family to protect a child. Click here to read a little more on Wiley’s inspirations on writing this first novel. We will find out in August if it has reached the shortlists in these categories. The winner is announced at the Crime Thriller Awards in October.

And last but not least in any way, Frederick Forsyth was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger which acknowledges a lifetime’s achievement in crime and thriller writing.

CWA Chair Peter James declared, “There has been a truly stellar line up of nominees and the judges in all categories had a very tough time selecting the winners. The Crime Writers’ Association Dagger Awards are the longest running literary awards, and the quality of the entries, judges and those attending the ceremony demonstrates just how sought after and prestigious they are. Many crime writers, including such great names as Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Elmore Leonard and of course tonight, Freddie Forsyth, have held these prizes – and, so far as we know, never yet stabbed anyone with them. But there’s always the first time…”

If you’d like to see the winners and longlists in full visit:







Post A Comment

Your Name

Your Email

Your Website

Your Comment
Please note: Moderation is enabled and may delay your Comment being posted. There is no need to resubmit your Comment. By posting a Comment you are agreeing to the website Terms of Use.
Your Comments (1)

I’m so glad to hear A Land More Kind Than Home has been long listed to two awards… Much deserved! :)

Posted on July 9th, 2012 at 8:21 pm by Nikki-ann 
The What Shall I Read?